Request a copy of a book


Newham Bookshop logo (2015)

Open Tuesday to Saturday from
10 am to 5 pm.

We can send books by post, usually £3 in the UK.
Newham Bookshop logo (2015) The Wanstead Tap logo
Newham Bookshop events at The Wanstead Tap, Spring 2024
  • Thursday 7 Mar at 7.30 pm

    Jon Cruddas
    A Century of Labour

  • Saturday 9 Mar at 7.30 pm

    Michael Rosen
    Going Through It

  • Tuesday 12 Mar at 7.30 pm

    Mary McGlory & Sylvia Saunders: The Liverbirds

  • Thursday 14 Mar at 7.30 pm

    Lynne Jones: Sorry for the Inconvenience…

  • Wednesday 20 March at 7.30 pm

    Ladies Who London LIVE!
    with Leo Hollis: Inheritance

  • Thursday 18 April at 7.30 pm

    Sarah Wise
    The Undesirables

  • Thursday 25 April at 7.30 pm

    Andrew Whitehead
    A Devilish Kind Of Courage




Newham Bookshop by Pete Fallan
Newham Bookshop, Pete Fallan, March 2021.


Conway Hall event – order a copy of Sex Bomb
Please select:
Sex Bomb by Sadia Azmat
Sex Bomb is published by Headline Book Publishing in paperback at £12.99.

Sadia Azmat

Sex Bomb

For fans of Everything I Know About Love, The Wrong Knickers and The Right Sort of Girl this is the incredibly honest and brilliantly raunchy memoir you don’t want to
miss.

Sadia is a comedian who loves sex. She is also a hijab-wearing Muslim woman.

The two are in a lifelong relationship, but it’s complicated. Sadia Azmat has many different sides to her – she is the good Muslim sister and the loud and proud comedian, she is the quiet and loving friend and the horny and outspoken one. So why does everyone put her in a box and expect her to choose between one or the other? In a life of ups and downs, swings and roundabouts, Sadia has learnt the hard way that she can embrace her sexuality and be a proud British-Indian Muslim.

From discovering her sexual identity after seeing a copy of Asian Babes on the shelf in the corner shop to rejecting an arranged marriage and feeling distanced from her culture; from her experience dating white and Asian men to her tumultuous relationship with her headscarf, Sadia is unafraid to spill the honest truth. Sadia finds the funny in every experience she has and this book explodes with personality, warmth and joy. This book is for anyone who has ever felt different or alone; allow this book to fill you up and propel you forward, because we all deserve to feel like a Sex Bomb.

“Honest. Much needed.” — Frank Skinner.

“A hilarious, courageous and compelling read that explores the complicated relationship between culture, religion, identity and sexuality within the British Asian community. A must read for those who have lived it, and for those who haven’t.” — Anita Bhagwandas.

“Azmat raises complex, consequential matters with a lightness of touch. Sex Bomb is an easy read as she reflects candidly and boldly on her experiences and the factors that led to them.” — Chortle.

Sex Bomb is so hilarious, raw and poignant. I couldn’t put it down!” — Jena Friedman.

Sex Bomb is a privilege and a joy to read, and everybody you’ve ever met should read it.” — Anne T. Donahue.

“Refreshing, candid, hilarious and necessary.” — Sarah Malik.