Request a copy of a book

Newham Bookshop logo (2015)
45 years: 1978-2023

Open Tuesday to Saturday from
10 am to 5 pm.

We can send books by post, usually £3 in the UK.
Michael Rosen signing on 2 December flyer

Saturday 2 December from 1 to 3 pm
at The Wanstead Tap

Book signing
with Michael Rosen
On sale: all his latest books and many favourites for children and adults

Click here to see the flyer.

Christmas tree with decorations

Saturday 9 December from 10 am to 5 pm
at Newham Bookshop

Christmas Discount Day
15% off
all books in stock*
For all your
Christmas gifts

*Except workbooks and revision books

Newham Bookshop by Pete Fallan
Newham Bookshop, Pete Fallan, March 2021.

Order a copy of The Lion Who Never Roared
Please select:
The Lion Who Never Roared by Matt Tiller
The Lion Who Never Roared is published by Pitch Publishing in hardback at £19.99.

Matt Tiller

The Lion Who Never Roared

The Star Robbed of England Glory

The Lion Who Never Roared: The Star Robbed of England Glory is the incredible story of Jack Leslie, the only black player in the Football League when he was selected for his country in 1925 only to be dropped due to the colour of his skin. Jack had an illustrious career at Plymouth Argyle with 137 goals in 400 games. He became the league’s first black captain before an eye injury forced him to retire.

In his 60s he joined West Ham United… to shine the boots of World Cup winners like Bobby Moore. Nearly a century after Jack’s heyday, research for this book helped bring recognition at last from the FA, who awarded him an honorary cap in 2023, while a campaign led to a statue that now proudly stands outside Home Park in Plymouth.

Drawing on material from the Leslie family archive, Jack’s legacy is unfurled in this heart-breaking yet inspiring biography, which includes contributions from Viv Anderson, the first black player to win a full England cap, and Sir Trevor Brooking.