Newham Bookshop logo (2015)

Open Tuesday to Saturday
from 10 am to 5 pm.
We can send books by post, usually £3 in the UK.

Newham Bookshop by Ewan Morrison is part of Newham Lockdown Window Art. Come and see the picture at the Bookshop, click here for a large version, or visit @lbnlockdownart.

The Wanstead Tap logo Newham Bookshop logo (2015)
Newham Bookshop by Pete Fallan
Newham Bookshop, Pete Fallan, March 2021.


When Shadows Fall by Sita Brahmachari
When Shadows Fall is published by Little Tiger Press Group in hardback at £12.99.




Sita Brahmachari

When Shadows Fall

Illustrated by Natalie Sirett

A heart-breaking and poignant novel from award-winning author Sita Brahmachari, for fans of The Black Flamingo, And the Stars were Burning Brightly and Poet X

Kai, Orla and Zak grew up together, their days spent on the patch of wilderness in between their homes, a small green space in a sprawling grey city. Music, laughter and friendship bind them together and they have big plans for their future – until Kai’s family suffers a huge loss.

Trying to cope with his own grief, as well as watching it tear his family apart, Kai is drawn into a new and more dangerous crowd, until his dreams for the future are a distant memory. Excluded from school and retreating from his loved ones, it seems as though his path is set, his story foretold. Orla, Zak and new classmate Om are determined to help him find his way back. But are they too late?

“Full of empathy and hope… Kai’s story is a must-read for teens to explore how easily things can fall apart but also how we can heal.” — A.M. Dassu, author of Boy, Everywhere.

“A song of growing up, grief and the power of connection, When Shadows Fall is an illuminating and lyrical read” — Polly Ho-Yen, author of Boy in the Tower.

“Beautifully told with real care, tenderness and heart.” — Jasbinder Bilan, author of Asha and the Spirit Bird.

“Sita’s lyrical prose captures the raw emotions of adolescence – of a young person navigating their way through grief and troubled times. A book for all of us.” — Gill Lewis, author of Swan Song.

“A heart-wrenching story about loss and art and nature, about how things can fall apart and how friends stand beside one another no matter what.” — Rashmi Sirdeshpande, author of How to Change the World.

“Empathetic, original, searingly sad in places, but full of hope – and the power of friendship, art, music, wild places, and ravens.” — Nicola Penfold, author of Where the World Turns Wild.

“A gripping, tender, terrifying work… Impactful, innovative, and deeply moving.” — Sinead O’Hart, author of The Eye of the North.


Bookshop logo
If you cannot get to the Bookshop or buy from us directly,
please support Newham Bookshop by visiting our shop on Bookshop.org.
If you would like to buy a signed copy, please contact us first.