Newham Bookshop logo (2015)

We’re looking forward to re-opening on Tuesday 13 April

From 3 to 12 April
Open for payment and collections through the door, Tuesday to Saturday
from 10 am to 12 noon.
From Tuesday 13 April
Open Tuesday to Saturday
from 10 am to 5 pm.
Face coverings, four customers at a time.
We can send books by post, usually £3 in the UK.

Redeem your
World Book Day
vouchers any time up to Friday 23 April.
We will honour them.

Newham Bookshop exterior

Thank you to all our customers, local, national and worldwide, for your loyalty and support over the last year.



Exciting Times by Naoise Dolan
Exciting Times is published by
Orion in paperback at £8.99.




Naoise Dolan

Exciting Times

The Sunday Times Bestseller and shortlisted for the An Post Irish Book Awards 2020

When you leave Ireland aged 22 to spend your parents’ money, it’s called a gap year. When Ava leaves Ireland aged 22 to make her own money, she’s not sure what to call it, but it involves:

  – a badly-paid job in Hong Kong, teaching English grammar to rich children;

  – Julian, who likes to spend money on Ava and lets her move into his guest room;

  – Edith, who Ava meets while Julian is out of town and actually listens to her when she talks;

  – money, love, cynicism, unspoken feelings and unlikely connections.

Exciting times ensue.

“The book of the summer… Kept me rapt until the final page.” — The Times.

“A sharp, smart, witty modern love story. I loved it.” — David Nicholls, author of One Day.

“More than lives up to the hype… Likely to fill the Sally-Rooney-shaped hole in many readers’ lives.” — The Irish Times.

“Droll, shrewd and unafraid – a winning debut.” — Hilary Mantel, author of Wolf Hall.

“I’ve been pushing Exciting Times on everyone I know. Some of Dolan’s pithy observations of her characters are the best I’ve read since Edward St Aubyn.” — The Observer.

“A frankly sensational book.” — Pandora Sykes on The High Low.

“In the tradition of Dorothy Parker, Joan Rivers and Nora Ephron… I found myself purring with pleasure… This is comic writing at the highest level.” — Craig Brown, Daily Mail.


Bookshop logo
If you cannot get to the Bookshop or buy from us directly,
please support Newham Bookshop by visiting our shop on Bookshop.org.
If you would like to buy a signed copy, please contact us first.